Thank you for submitting your review. It will be processed shortly!
Thadddeus G. says
Told there were a few stairs. There were 59 from one garage and 39 from the other. Picture showed next to beach: had to drive. Third floor, all fans going, still too hot.
We are sorry for any confusion, but we do state “Third floor, multiple levels of stairs to entry and additional steps from the parking area” in the description. The pool shown is the complex pool, so I am not sure what you are referring to. In addition, we mention that this unit is “just a short walk to the world renowned Brennecke’s Beach and Poipu Beach”. I believe you have our listing confused with another. Mahalo.
Bryan P. says
Kaui Family Home Base Condo
Hard to summarize this is a unique property with pros and cons to consider we gave it 5 stars because it fit this trip perfect but depending on your family it has some unique points to consider 1. Views 5 stars your on the Ocean and it looks like a cruise ship from the living room. You can see turtles from balcony and sunsets are amazing. 2. Location to Beach’s it’s walking distance but not a comfortable walk there and back, if you plan to bring gear with you other than flip flops and towel. We drove most of the time due to coolers chairs etc. 3. Stairs- if you can’t do a bunch of stairs daily 3rd floor is definitely not for you. 4. 3rd bedroom is a loft not closed in but has large bath and shower 2 sinks lots drawers for stuff great for us but not private has no door and wicker privacy screens that separate the room from downstairs. Has the potential to get hot in this condo but mostly cloudy and windy during our stay and we didn’t get hot as long as we ran the fans and left windows open. If pounding surf keeps you awake don’t stay in the loft you gotta keep the windows open so the sound is present we loved it! 4. Kitchen was equipped well but mostly just the basics but all we needed really. 5. Parking is tight but we always had a spot. 6. Pool was was not large or super warm it’s basic and we’re not pool people so didn’t bother us. If you want a pool this one isn’t worthy of a visit. 7. We had to call maint for a repair they were quick and solved the problem.. Great job on the maintenance! And repair. For our trip we used it as a base for excursions outside and always travelled by car. 8. We would and are considering going back to the this same Condo but would only move for a closer easier walk to the. beach. Great Job Parrish
Fantastic service and exceptional view
The view and location were phenomenal. The unit was spacious and provided us everything we needed. We had to contact the manager for assistance while there (an ill family member) and they went above and beyond to assist. Truly a great experience with the property owners.
Mahalo Suzan for you 5-star review and comments. We were truly glad we could assist and I hope your mother is well and healthy. We look forward to hosting your family again.
Great view in Poipu
Has a great view of the ocean in a good location on the south side. Condo is fairly outdated and has no air conditioning are drawbacks.
Laura, San Francisco, CA says
Great stay at this condo! It comfortably fit our group of 5 girls. They were super communicative and came and fixed our porch light and changed the battery on a smoke detector during our stay. Great location with a gorgeous view! Definitely recommend this spot!
Mahalo Laura for your 5-star review and comments. We are so happy that you enjoyed the condo and that our team was able to help you feel at home during your stay! We look forward to hosting the next girls trip soon. Aloha and a hui hou!
Christopher G. says
Awesome waterfront condo
This condo is wonderful. It was like visiting a fairy tale when we walked in. I would return in a heartbeat. The patio dining space was very special. Not a great place for kids <5 but absolutely gorgeous. We were 4 adults and it was fabulous
Mahalo Christopher for your 5-star review and comments. We love hearing that the unit was perfect for everyone in your group. Glad to hear that you had an amazing stay. We cannot wait to host you again soon. Aloha!
Poipu Makai #3
Management company un responsive to maintenance issues. WiFi did not work entire stay – no big deal were in Hawaii. Dishwasher and waashing machine did not work. Repeatedly called the management office with no response. Nicely asked about the response when turning in keys – “Have a nice day” without any apology at all. Beautifil location and view. I would not rent again due to the managment group.
Aloha Ron. While we are glad that you loved the unit and the view, we are sorry to hear that you would not rent with us again. We always do our best to make sure that all our guests have an amazing and comfortable stay with us while on Kauai. However, sometimes things break, despite being well maintained. We understand that it can be frustrating, and we are sorry that these items were not working properly during your stay. To say, however, that we offered no response is false and misleading to others reading your review. When you reported the washing machine was not working, the Property Manager, Tanner, went to the unit, showed you how to use it properly, and asked if you were having trouble to please call again. It was working properly before the end of the day. We received no further correspondence from you regarding the washing machine. Three days later, you reported that the internet was not working properly. We sent a property manager out and we rebooted and got everything working properly for you that afternoon. Lastly, the dishwasher was having issues. After inspecting it, Tanner could not repair it, but we had an appliance technician fix the issue that afternoon. You see, we made every effort to make all the necessary repairs during your stay. We are sorry that they may have disrupted your stay, but we do no think it is unfair to say that we never addressed your concerns. Please know we did everything we could to resolve everything as quickly as well could. Aloha.
Janet Z. says
The view was breathtaking. Watched the sea turtles every morning! Very close to the beach.
Easy rental process. Communication was great. The app made arrival and departure instructions easy. The house was exceptional and very well equipped with everything we needed. The views from this location are outstanding!
Mahalo Janet for your 5-star review and comments. We are happy to hear that you found the app to be helpful and that you loved the unit and the view. We look forward to hosting you again! Aloha and a hui hou.
Steve M. says
Coffee maker didn’t work, but was promptly replaced.
Mahalo Steve for your 5-star review and feedback. Our apologies regarding the coffeemaker. We are happy that our team was able to replace it so quickly. We look forward to hosting you again soon! Aloha and a hui hou!
Brad W. says
We would stay here again! It worked perfect for our family of four with 3 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms! Very clean place and the views from the balcony were really amazing (it is the third floor so there are a few stairs but nothing too difficult). Watching the sea turtles while eating a meal out on the balcony was great! They have boogie boards, chairs, some snorkeling equipment and plenty of beach towels, linens and kitchen essentials. Great location! right down the road from a couple very nice beaches, restaurants and shopping. Plenty to do in this area. We highly recommend this condo !
Mahalo Amy for the 5-star review, comments and recommendation. We look forward to hosting you again on Kauai soon. A hui hou.
Jennifer H. says
Dream come true
This property was absolutely perfect for our family of four. It’s quiet and private, and close to all the local beach spots. We loved sitting on the deck and watching the turtles swim by, with whales in the distance. The condo is lovely and luxurious, and we would definitely stay again!!
Alayna H. says
Location was perfect. Easy access to South shore beaches. Views were stunning. Property was fairly quiet. Unit was well-stocked with towels, beach gear and toiletries. Kitchen and bathrooms were ok – except for the mouse that lived in the kitchen and the broken toilet in one bathroom. Bedding was comfortable, mattresses firm. Windows were filthy- we cleaned them ourselves to enjoy the view. (Yes, it was raining the week prior – but the dirt/grime was definitely more than a week’s worth of Mother Nature.) The noise from the ocean is VERY loud if you are in the king loft – if that bothers you bring earplugs or opt for the back bedroom. There are several stairs outside and inside, so if that’s tricky for you, this may not be the place to stay. Not recommended for as safe for little ones – stick with a lower level unit.
Mahalo Alayna for your review and comments. We apologize on the miss on the windows. We do have them cleaned regularly, but being on the ocean they do take a beating. I see in the notes in your folio, there was no sighting of your extra visitor after initial one. However, we have alerted the AOAO and have requested extra attention to the matter. I appreciate your patience we look forward to hosting you again next year. Aloha.
Robert W. says
Always Make a View Priority 1 & Service Priority #2
On both of these accounts the condo and Parrish, each party accel unbelievably. John and I didn’t arrive until one day late due to a weather delay. Since all of staying at the condo are big time users of VRBO units, we expect certain items to be standard with the unit. My brother in law and sister in law with her husband identied two items that we standard for a unit like this one the first day prior to our arrival. They notified the Parrish staff. The service provided by Parrish fixed the situation prior to our arrival a couple of hours later. Never have we had such an attentive management company setting themselves above all others. They must be commended. The kitchen may be small to some. Normally we had 3 working in the kitchen simultaneously. Only your imagation maybe small. However, it is fully functional and totally ready for your adventures. Traditionally we eat in both breakfast and dinner in since one of us can cook comparable to the best restaurant alternatives in any location we attend. As a group , we believe in utiitizing the local produce [everyone needs to do this in Kauai] as evidenced by our deconstructed Thanksgiving dinner of marinated Ono, garlic horseradish mashed potatoes with gravy marinade, and bacon long/wing beans. The kitchen can create anything! Your imagination is the limiting factor. We have read issues regarding bugs especially in the kitchen. Honestly, we had several issues regarding that. But after careful scientific evaluation, we only had ourselves to blame based on handling [or lack of] kitchen trash. When we were diligent regarding trash nothing occurred. It’s the tropics, you have to think and plan. Look at the view. That is the most understated part of the unit. WE LOVED OUR 14 DAY STAY!!!!!
Mahalo Robert for your 5-star review and comments. Your meal sounds fabulous. We look forward to hosting you and your friends again soon. Aloha and a hui hou.
Rob Winks says
Poipu Makai B3
WOW.. What a place! Your pictures and description don’t do it justice. The accommodations are fantastic – well thought and great furnishings. The air flow thru the condo is incredible. Afternoons with the sunshine and the sunsets are beyond words.
Those things are not what impressed our group that travels using VRBO accommodations. Due to a travel delay, John and I didn’t arrive until Friday. John’s brother, sister and her husband arrived on Thursday. When they arrived on Thursday, they inquired about several items that we all are use to having in a VRBO. What impressed everyone was how quickly the issues were resolved and the quality of the responses. Your attention to service sets you apart.
Today, we come back to a beautiful bouquet of native flowers. No one has ever made such a kind gesture to us when staying in a VRBO. We all thank you for this wonderful gift. This meant so much to everyone.
Rob Winks and Family
Mahalo Rob for your 5-star review and kind words. Enjoy PMB3 and Kauai. Aloha and a hui hou.
Matthew F. says
It was a nice condo with an even nicer management company. I would rent this place based on the management alone. It does tend to get hot without AC but that is just being a picky Californian. The unit is on the third floor and you can see multiple sea turtles in the coast at once. Snorkeling is great about a mile south and north of the condo. All in all, I would stay there again in a heart beat.
Mahalo Matthew for your 5-star review and comments. We are so appreciative and look forward to hosting you again soon. A hui hou.
Richard C. says
This place was exactly what we were looking for. Beautiful, especially the sea turtles and dolphin show just outside the door! Comfortable condo, plenty of room ( bathrooms included) and the view was the best I’ve ever seen and I lived on the coast of CA.
Raymond L. says
Hard to beat the View!
My wife and I stayed at this third floor condo early March 2018. The view off the patio is fantastic, and the sun literally sets front and center. The photos online are a very good representation of what you get; no surprises. You park at a small two-level parking lot and walk down stairs before you walk upstairs to the 3rd floor. I say this only because people with mobility concerns or small children should be aware. Your air-conditioning is opened louvered windows, the trade winds and a collection of ceiling and floor fans. We actually got chilly during our stay. It is a fairly short walk to Poipu Beach Park; too far if you’re lugging coolers, chairs, etc. and parking there was not an issue in March. Dining is largely available around the Kuku’ula Village Shopping Center, and the nearby plaza shared by Keoki’s Paradise restaurant. Both are within two miles. Every meal we had was great, regardless if it was high-end or quick eats. As long as you stay on the south part of the island, and south of the airport, travel is scenic and easy. The east side of the island was congested and slow moving…so add a little time if you’re venturing to the laid-back, easy-going and gorgeous north side. The only down side we experienced had nothing to do with the condo, but just outside the property. The sea is choppy in the winter months which is great for sightseeing and photography, but not for sleeping. It can be loud at times. Bring a set of foam ear plugs just in case! My wife had no issues with the crashing surf and it lulled her quickly to sleep. I on the other hand was easily awaken by the intermittent boom of a big wave hitting the vertical cliff face outside the patio. Outside of that it was a GREAT stay at a GREAT condo.
Fred S. says
Great property right on the ocean.
Great property right on the ocean. Sea turtles and whales seen from a nice balcony with a table for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Plenty of room for three couples with each bedroom having its own bathroom.
Mary Ann B. says
Great Oceanfront property
We loved staying in this unit. It was not air conditioned so might be hot in the summer, but with all the windows and front door open, we had wonderful breezes every day and night. Lower level has 2 nice bedrooms. One bedroom has a bathroom and the other is across the hall from the bathroom. Nice kitchen that is very well equipped. Refrigerator did not have ice maker but made ice quickly from trays. Large table on covered deck by kitchen was nice to eat at every day. Nice balcony off of living room that overlooks the ocean. We saw lots of Humpback Whales and Sea Turtles every day. There is not a beach to swim at at condo, but a nice beach is a short walk from condo. There is a very small swimming pool that is not heated. Water was very cold. Did have a nice gas grill that anyone can use. Unit has a beautiful spiral staircase to upstairs which was wide and easy to go up. Nice breezy sitting area with TV and desk for computer. Master bedroom and bath also upstairs. Not very much privacy in master bedroom. It is like an open loft area and had two wood screens that did not adequately screen area. Had to hang some beach towels. Beach towels were provided with unit. Had extra towels and blankets. Master bath was huge with lots of drawers so you could unpack your suitcase. Lots of room for hanging cloths and lots of extra hangers. Beautiful, large walk in shower and double sinks. All rooms had ceiling fans and extra fans to use. Would definitely recommend renting this unit in the winter.
Gail M says
Beautiful condo, great location, fabulous views
This condo was a perfect choice for our first trip to Kauai. As others have mentioned, the views from the living room and the lanai are outstanding. In the morning, we watched turtles swimming below us, and occasionally saw whales in the distance; in the evening, we always made the effort to get back and watch the spectacular sunsets as we enjoyed our at home “happy hour”. The kitchen was equipped with everything one could need for a self-catering stay–pots & pans, dishes, storage containers, bowls, coffee maker, etc., etc. The three bedrooms were comfortably sized and each had its own bathroom (two of which were en suite). The upstairs “master” bedroom had its own sitting area as well as a very large master bath. The unit is also equipped with boogie boards, beach chairs, and plenty of beach towels. We could easily walk to Poipu Beach and Shipwreck Beach, where we enjoyed watching the sun rise. Finally, Parrish Kauai, which manages this condo, was a pleasure to work with. The only drawbacks (and to us they were minor) were that the pool was quite small and the unit was on the topmost level and therefore required mounting several flights of stains. All in all, we were extremely pleased with our stay at Poipu Makai.
Jack T. says
This condo has superb views of the south shoreline and the ocean including the many critters in it. I would not stay in it with others because of the master being open to the main floor thus eliminating privacy for all. Perfect for the two of us who operate on different schedules.
Mahalo Jack for your review. We hope that you got to see turtles, dolphins and hopefully some whales….it is exciting to see all that from your lanai. Aloha and a hui hou!
Val O. says
We loved this condo and location. Morning coffee on the lanai watching the turtles was such a nice start to every day. We enjoyed how close we were to Poipu beach and snorkelling. Most days we missed the sunset from the lanai as we were out exploring the island. The days we were back at the unit to see the sunset it was fantastic!
Beautiful place to stay! The condo was clean and well equipped and the mattresses were great! Nice location!
We saw whales and sea turtles everyday from our balcony. 10 min walk to beautiful beaches and snorkeling. Management company was great to deal with. I would highly recommend this place. Just note that the pool is very small so I don’t see anyone using it. And also as crazy as it sounds when there is a Southern wind off the ocean, it blows right into the master bedroom as the windows do not close tightly and the ocean crashes onto the rocks below making it very noisy and difficult to sleep. So yes we didn’t always get the best sleep but I would still very much recommend this place so don’t let that bother you.
Mahalo Rick for your review. The sights are really amazing in front of Poipu Makai and so glad you got to see whales. The developer chose to push the property close to the water to get those spectacular views rather than have the pool in front, thus it is more of a refreshing dipping pool…good for those really hot days. We did have some amazing big surf come in during your trip so sorry it was loud…but know it is not always that way. Thanks again and we look forward to hosting you again soon. A hui hou!
Watching the whales from the lanai
The highlight of the trip was being able to watch the whales, dolphins, and sea turtles directly from the lanai while drinking our morning coffee. The last morning the whales seemed to know we were leaving and came in extra close and waved goodbye. The sunsets were also terrific and you didn’t even need to leave the couch. Of course, we did. The only downside is that having a large group meant also having a large vehicle and it was a little daunting to park, but we were successful every time. As usual, the Parrish Kaua‘i staff were wonderful. Oh, I guess there was a television in the living room and one upstairs. The shows were better out the lanai and we never turned on the TVs.
Mahalo for the note and glad you enjoyed the live show…better than Sea World. See you next time. Aloha!
Fabulous views says
This condo had it all…great location, well appointed with room for our group of four to spread out & enjoy our week on Kauai! We spent most of our time on the lanai enjoying the fantastic views or watching turtles playing right in front of the condo! We even spotted some whales breaching in the distance on several occasions! The best part was the beautiful sunsets at the end of the day, each one more beautiful than the day before. All in all…a beautiful place to stay. We would highly recommend it!!
san diego says
Loved the condo. Everything was great.Would stay there again.
When living room screen door came off track, Parrish sent maintenance promptly to fix. The glass slats in the third floor bedroom very rusty and hard to impossible to adjust. One slat fell and shattered on the lanai. Need to provide map showing entrance from parking lot – a resident had to lead us first down, then across and then up to find 3B. Lower level parking deck way too small – very difficult to avoid concrete piers. Loved sitting on the lanai and watching turtles and crashing waves. The children and the adults appreciated the TV in the upstairs bedroom’s sitting area so adults were not disturbed when kids were watching “their” programs. Loved being able to walk to several beaches with different levels of waves. Appreciated the abundance of towels, both beach and bath.
Austin Texas says
No better view to be found
The property has the most amazing view to be found in Hawaii. We stay at 5 star places and this is absolutely the finest view. The lack of air conditioning was the only drawback.
Our Vacation to Kauai was the best vacation by far. From the awesome condo to the view. We definitely are planning to return again next year.
we really enjoyed our stay. The condo was beautiful, and watching the turtles below and the beautiful sunsets every nite was so relaxing. We found your company so helpful in planning activites, and also helpful for any problems in the condo. We appreciated your immediate attention you gave us. We would definitely use you again, and will recommend you to others. Mahalo.
Fantastic view from a beautiful condo
If you want a real oceanfront view, this is the condo for you. The entire view from the living room and outdoor dining room is ocean, which is about 50 steps away. There is not a sand beach in front–it is rocky–but there is a path to walk to the rocks and get even closer to the ocean. A sandy swimming beach is about a 5-10 minute walk away. The condo itself is very comfortable and nicely appointed. It is also a very quiet unit–we never heard any noise from any other unit. There are not really any other amenities–the pool is the smallest I’ve seen, and there is a barbeque pit, but that’s about it. On the other hand, with such a spectacular view and the close proximity to a swimming beach, what else do you really need? The people at the management company were also very nice and helpful.
Beautiful, peaceful location
Absolutely beautiful place and location. Only downsides were that it was not air conditioned and it was VERY hot during the time of our stay. I would not recommend it for small children or people unable to handle stairs, etc. There is no one to help with luggage, etc. We had someone smoking a cigar on the ground level so we had to stay inside to avoid the odor due to being allergic to it. Even with the above, we absolutely LOVED the place. Very roomy, 3 bathrooms, well stocked. Didn’t know about beach toys, etc. until we accidently stumbled on them the last day. If we return with a group of adults, we would definitely consider returning here.
Beautiful recently redone condo on a bluff. Fantastic views out the window and from the outdoor table. Saw sea turtles every day. The property was for sale when we stayed. I don’t think a new owner should change things for guests as the place is wonderful and tastefully decorated, complete with DVDs (none of which were watched–they can’t compete with the view). The management company is very helpful and responsive and the place was spotless when we arrived. The swimming pool is barely bigger than a large hot tub so kids may be in for a disappointment (but why come to Hawaii for a pool–there’s a big ocean for getting wet). My only real complaint is that it is a bit of a haul from your car to the front door–down a level, around a corner and up a couple of flights of stairs. Carrying luggage makes it seem longer. This is a very minor inconvenience and I only mention it for balance. I would definitely stay in this development at this unit again.
Sweet vacation in a lovely condo
This unit is a great condo in a beautiful area of Kauai. We’ve stayed in Po’ipu before & it is difficult to find a great place overlooking the ocean. Our kids LOVED watching the giant sea turtles outside the condo everyday. Although the unit was great, there were just a couple of downsides: –Stairs only, & we had 3 flights from the parking, so carrying bags was a nice little workout –no air conditioning, but ocean breezes were wonderful –swimming pool was tiny & not kept up (but we were aware of that coming into the condo). Looked like a big jacuzzi. –lots of renovations in the complex (early morning banging, painting, etc). –parking is bizarre on the bottom level with large support poles in awkward places making it difficult to park. –bring your own toilet paper…only 1 extra roll provided for 6 guests for the week! The condo itself is immaculate & comfortable with great views and breezes. We’d stay again.
Aloha Isilao, Thanks for taking the time to write your review. Poipu Makai has proven very popular for those looking for a prime oceanfront location. To better inform guests of the multi-level of stairs, we have enhanced our property descriptions so potential guests are fully aware. Although we are not responsible for the grounds, we are working with the owners and homeowner association to improve the pool maintenance as we want to ensure the best vacation experience. In regards to the toilet paper, we always provide a starter kit for paper supplies which includes some extra which is usually adequate for most stays. We apologize if we missed some extra and per your request, we did bring you some additional rolls at no charge. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you on island again soon. The Parrish Collection Kauai
Great views, bad description
While this villa was extremely clean and well appointed with great views, the description on the web was highly exaggerated. The description led us to believe that this was two floors with a ground level entrance and patio. In reality you had to climb up and down 37 (yes, we counted) steps to enter the villa. From the parking garage we had to walk down several flights and then back up several more flights to arrive at our door. Our 81 year old grandmother was with us; not good. We thought we were renting a ground level unit because of her. Also, the small pool was highly exaggerated. It was barely big enough for an adult. It’s size was more comparable to a hot tub and to top things off the water was slimy green. Also not a pool side chair in site.
Aloha Jamb, We appreciate your taking the time to write your review. We agree that Poipu Makai has some of the best views in Poipu. We are sorry our web site was not clearer on the property description. To better inform guests of the multi-level of stairs, we have enhanced our property descriptions so potential guests are fully aware. We also updated the description of the pool to better describe the size. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you on island again soon. The Parrish Collection Kauai