One of the best locations in sunny Poipu Beach Kauai, Nihi Kai Villas Resort is just steps away from the Poipu shoreline and a little over 300 yards to world-famous body surfing Brennecke’s Beach and Poipu Beach Park. The plantation style architecture at this small island oasis by the sea is surrounded by swaying palms, tropical flowers, fruit trees, orchids, and mature plumeria trees accented by well manicured lawns.
• Heated oceanfront swimming pool
• Tennis courts
• Complimentary self parking
• Two community BBQ locations
• On-site front desk, Concierge and Activities services
• 24 hour emergency contact and response
• Daily maid service available (for additional charge)
• Check-in: 3:00 pm, check-out 10:00 am (late check-out upon availability for additional charge)
• Partial ocean view, two-level floor plan, approximately 1,821 square feet
• Ground level, one level stairs to entry (entry on upper level)
• Interior Rating: Deluxe
• AC throughout
• 3 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms
• Master Suite – lower level, AC, king bed, TV, private lanai, full bath tub with shower
• Second Suite – lower level, AC, king bed, private lanai, full bath tub with shower
• Third Bedroom – upper level, AC, queen bed, private lanai, full tub with walk-in shower
• Flat screen TV/DVD/CD in living room, AC, private lanai
• Wireless hi-speed internet, in-room safe
• Washer and dryer, open parking
Thank you for submitting your review. It will be processed shortly!
Susann R. says
The condo is amazing and stocked with all the kitchen amenities you will ever need to cook a great meal! There was enough space for all of us to have our own space. The check in process did not go smoothly at all and the property was over an hour late releasing the condo, after 4 phone calls and speaking to 3 different people. Patt was finally able to get us the code to get in! Great location, Great Property! Amazing trip with family and friends!
Deborah Krawczyk, (us) says
Well priced gem!
???? Location was excellent, the ocean view was beautiful, especially from the pool! Grills were nice to have and the property was gorgeous. Easy walking distance to the beach and restaurants.
???? The bathrooms could use updating, and some of the furniture was tired. The beds could have been a little more comfortable.
Mahalo again for your reviews.
Deborah K. says
Mahalo for a great time!
Everything we needed was provided. Coffee, laundry detergent, coolers, boogie boards, beach chairs, etc. Have a line to hang wet clothing, maybe under the deck. The bathrooms and dressers need updating, but they worked. I would have liked a map of the complex with the location of the office before I arrived. We had trouble finding the office in the dark.
Mahalo Deborah for your 5-star review and comments. We do provide directions to the office in our welcome email as well in our APP, but we will look info adding one in the after-hours arrival email as well – great suggestion. We are happy that you had a wonderful time and we look forward to hosting you again soon! Aloha and A hui hou!
Very large living spaces, lower and upper balconies, well-equipped kitchen, nice linens, and lots of beach equipment to borrow, (chairs, umbrella, boogie boards, etc.). The only negative was the AC was inadequate…they had a portable AC unit downstairs & upstairs, but were not able to keep the large space cool…need to upgrade the AC!
Mahalo Lyla for your comments. Actually, the AC in this unit is brand new and is a full split system with four wall units. It is not “portable”. We double checked and it is working as expected. If you left any windows or sliding doors, open, of course that will impact the effectiveness of the AC. I did check your folio notes and do not see that you reported any problems while you were here. In the future, if something is not working to you liking, I do suggest you let us know so we can address any issues. Mahalo.
Pamela A. says
Close to Poipu beach. The unit was roomy, a little dated, but I liked the layout. I would stay there again
Debra G says
Average Condo in an Amazing Location
Six adults and one toddler stayed in this unit for a week. When we first arrived, I was disappointed with the appearance and cleanliness of the condo. The furniture and decor is very dated and needs to be updated. One of the king beds was very saggy and needs to be replaced. The ceiling fans were caked with dust and grime. The kitchen had enough utensils and dishes for our breakfast and lunch use, but may not be enough for someone who wants to do some real cooking. But in spite of the negatives I mentioned, we loved our stay at Nihi Kai Villas. The porch with the ocean view, even from a distance, was delightful. We enjoyed the beautiful grounds and had so much fun playing tennis and swimming. Both the courts and the pool are in great shape.
Aloha Debra, Mahalo for taking the time to review your stay at Nihi Kai. We apologize if we missed anything in our preparation for your stay. I wish you would have let us know, we could have easily had someone come and address the ceiling fan. We are on-site every day and we did try to reach out to you several time to no avail. We are sorry to hear you were surprised on the décor…the photos have been recently done. We will check the mattress to see if it needs replacement, thanks for the feedback. In the end, I am glad you had a great time and we look foreword to hosting you again soon. Mahalo and a hui hou.
UPDATE: Air Conditioning Added in November 2018
New split system air conditioning throughout entire unit.
Susan , (US) says
Overall its beautifully located near the beach/park
???? The villa is beautiful and complete, from kitchen wares, to bathroom necessities
???? No air conditioning ????
Mahalo Susan for your top rating review and comments. FYI, NK511 now has full AC. Yahoo!
Kara , (US) says
There are no comments available for this review
Bill Hollingsworth says
Just do it. “The Place” to be. Get on your bucket list.
Selwyn , (CA) says
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay
???? beautiful property proximity to beach and pool
Great location, walking distance to the beach. The kitchen and living room was really nice. The bathrooms and bedrooms could use an update.
Mahalo Barb for your comments. We will pass on your suggestions to the owner as they are always trying to make their properties the best they can be. Aloha.
L Faye O says
Spring break spectacular
The Nihi Kai Villas are well appointed with everything from colanders to boogie boards. We stayed in #511 and in #101. The three bedroom three bath 511 had a spacious kitchen with lanai off the living room. Granite, stainless appliances and abundant bedding helped to make the stay very nice even though this unit only has s peek a boo view of the ocean. Upon our move to 101 we were treated with a front patio and yard looking directly onto the beach. We watched dolphin, whales, turtles, surfers, swimmers and snorkelers from this vantage point. The three bedrooms each had a lanai with the pool only 50 feet away! Be aware that one of the bedrooms is small with two twin beds and no tv. This room shares a bath also. My husband at 6’2″, said he was sleeping in the “toddler bed”.
The proximity to restaurants and stores is good with Brennekes being within walking distance. All in all a delightful stay!
David M says
Poorly maintained with unresponsive management
We were very excited to come to Po’ipu and we really wanted to love our stay in 511 Nihi Kai. But after many calls to the management, the best we can do is warn others: stay somewhere else.
The listing for a 3 bedroom is extremely misleading. The “third bedroom” is next to the living room separated by blinds instead of a real door. There is not even space for a suitcase and there is no usable closet because all the cleaning equipment is stored in that room.
The dishwasher was broken for 5 days of our 7 day stay. Lights are out in the kitchen, and the hot water goes out periodically due to an unreliable water tank, that does seems to run cold even during light use at times. The bathroom is cramped and doesn’t have a working lock. I regretted not bringing an inflatable bed because the mattresses are old and you will sink into them– I need a firm mattress and I woke up every morning with back pain. We thought there was a jacuzzi/ hot tub based on the description and pictures, but there definitely is not one in the complex.
There is a nice balcony with a view which we enjoyed on the sunny mornings. The local beaches are beautiful and you will spend most of your time taking in the splendor and beauty of Po’ipu. We definitely want to come back to enjoy this beach town but we will do so by staying somewhere else.
Aloha David, We assume you are the party in house now as the name is different, but this is a very popular unit and have had nothing but positive comments so we are sorry you are disappointed. We respectfully disagree with the description “unresponsive” as we dealt with both your issues timely and as fast as possible. We had the dishwasher was looked at right away and notified you a part needed to be ordered. We do apologize, but appliances do go out. We will note, it was fixed in three days not five, and we gave you a nice credit back for the inconvenience. On the hot water, we had it looked at and adjusted the same day you reported it, noting to your party that somehow the hot water was turned off which is strange as you had hot water for the beginning of you stay. There was no repair needed. We are sorry you do not like the mattress and wish there was something we can do to make it firmer, but we cannot. In terms of the layout, we go to great lengths to describe our units and there are photos, floorplans, etc. listed to help people pick the right unit. We will note it is a real door not blinds and as I mentioned, have not had others complain about the layout. In terms of the spa, no where do we say there is a “jacuzzi or hot tub”. Nihi Kai is tremendously popular and with our staff on-site daily, we strive to be as responsive as possible and believe we were here as well. We are sorry you are disappointed but hope you have a great rest of your vacation.
Nihi Kai #511
A wonderful 3 bedroom condo occupying 1st (ground) and second floors with 3 bathrooms and a great balcony for watching the sunset. Snorkeling, body boards and folding chairs provided. Lovely on site facilities (pool, BBQ & tennis court) set in beautiful gardens. A lovely 5 min stroll to Poipu Beach Park.
Parrish runs a good operation
The reservation process is very efficient (praises for Cynthia on the reservations desk), they have a good inventory, staff is easy to deal with when on-site, and the pricing is reasonable. Nihi Kai is in a great location, the grounds are beautiful, and the complex is quiet.
Stayed in number 511 from January 8-20th nothing but positive things to say room came with a couple beach chairs, coolers, boogie boards, tennis rackets and some snorkel gear there were turtles at the beach right I front of the beach across the street!close to the beaches the pool the BBQ area rooms were nice I would strongly suggest it to people! We will be back next year
Viet D. says
Dirty, old, nasty.. Came in, curtains falling apart. Sheets smell, has blood.. Cockroaches.. Ants.. Not enough supplies in kitchen.. I’ve never had such a bad experience. And no a/c!
Thank you for taking the time to comment about your experience. I apologize that the hinges were loose on the curtain rod in the guest bedroom. As the property manager explained on your arrival day, with your permission, we had maintenance repair it the next day. Please note, new curtains have been installed throughout the unit since then.
Please accept my sincerest apologies if the sheets were stained, this is not our standard and don’t know how that was missed. Please know this is an exception to the norm and we would have sent housekeeping back to remake the bed with new sheets if we were notified. We take pride in our housekeeping and have reviewed this with the staff to be sure it will not happen again.
As for the pests, all our properties are professionally treated regularly and unfortunately, in the tropics, occasionally pests will find their way in between treatments.
The kitchens are supplied with a starter kit of dish soap, dishwasher soap, a new roll of paper towels in addition to what is on the holder, kitchen garbage bags, a new sponge and salt & pepper. Due to the moisture and not knowing the condition of what others may have left, there are no spices or dry goods left in the units.
We take great pride in our operations and strive to prep everything to ensure an enjoyable vacation, however, sometimes things are missed and/or happen during a guest’s stay, but we are here 24/7 to address them once we are notified. For our guest’s convenience, each property has a customized a directory with our contact information for our office open daily as well as the our office on site.
The Parrish Collection
The accommodations were excellent for 3 couples, lots of room and each had seperate bathrooms and shower facities. Your web site did indicate the size of the living space but when we entered it appeared more spacious. The lanio was great. We all ate together. The landscaping of the premises was beautiful, well manicured. There was one room that did not have a TV. We would have liked that. You certainly exceeded our needs. Communication from beggining to end was terrific. I visited Maui in 1985 and wanted to come back to Kauai (heaven on earth) 28 years later. It was beyond my wildest dreams. I hope it stays this way don’t commercialize the island. Your traffic signs are a great idea to remind people not to speed. Thank you for providing a resting palce and safe environment for the turtles and monk seals. We loved the laid back atmosphere. Bless Kauai and its people.
A very spacious, clean and airy unit
Very clean, nicely furnished, has everything we needed; however, the curtains in the bedrooms were a little thin and did not provide privacy in the evening. That’s the only fault I have for this unit. Otherwise, it was a very comfortable unit for the 4 adults and 2 children. We had a great time. Children loved the pool.
Great base from which to explore Kauai!
We arrived a day late due to the Christmas blizzard on the east coast of the U.S. but office staff were great about it. My husband & I traveled with our two young adult children & their significant others. The complex is nicely landscaped with units well situated in relation to each other. The home is comfortable, roomy and well-stocked. We appreciated the beach bags, beach mats & chairs, snorkel gear, etc. Each bedroom has it’s own bath which is great. It is an easy walk to Brenneckes Beach where you can body surf and a bit further but walkable to Poipu Beach where you can snorkel. New Years Eve fireworks on the beach were spectacular! Parrish Kauai staff handled booking a catamaran trip and an aTV trip very efficiently even at the last minute. Poipu is a great location from which to take day trips to explore the island. We were on the go every day but this was a great place to come “home” to. Any inconveniences were minor i.e. the door was difficult to lock upon leaving. Great value to boot, especially if you want the extra room and ability to cook your own meals. Definitely a great week in a fabulous place!
We love going to Kauai and the Poipu area is our favorite place
We’ve stayed at the NiHi Kai Villas several times now and have had a great time there. This last time was very good as well, the unit was very nice #511. The only issue that we had was a small one but one that would make you think about what Parrish feels customer service really is. We had 3 bedrooms/with 3 baths, 6 adults & 2 childern for 2 weeks. We ran out of toilet paper (they only give you one extra roll per bathroom) when we went to the office to get another roll they wanted to charge us fo it. Given the amount we pay each day for the condo you’d think a roll of toilet paper wouldn’t be a big deal – didn’t make me happy – we’ll see if we stay with them again.
I didn't want to leave!
The Parish collection was very supportive and helpful in putting together an enjoyable vaction for my family – from care of the unit, having it be well stocked with items (houshold and fun – water shoes, boogie boards, tennis rackets, etc.) and suggesting and booking several fun activities. Unit was very comfortable and in a very good location. Short walk to great beach (snorkling, calm water section and ‘boogie board’ section), several good restaurants and even some shave ice. When we come back to Kauai we will use the Parish collection group again.