One of the best locations in sunny Poipu Beach Kauai, Nihi Kai Villas Resort is just steps away from the Poipu shoreline and a little over 300 yards to world-famous body surfing Brennecke’s Beach and Poipu Beach Park. The plantation style architecture at this small island oasis by the sea is surrounded by swaying palms, tropical flowers, fruit trees, orchids, and mature plumeria trees accented by well manicured lawns.
The Parrish Collection is a locally owned and based real estate management company that specializes in vacation rentals on Kauai and Maui. Our collections of rentals are professionally managed by in-house staff with a commitment to personalized service, fine attention to detail and a true sense of Aloha. Our team looks forward to hosting you soon.
• Heated oceanfront swimming pool
• Tennis courts
• Complimentary self parking
• Two community BBQ locations
• On-site front desk, Concierge and Activities services
• 24 hour emergency contact and response
• Daily maid service available (for additional charge)
• Check-in: 3:00 pm, check-out 10:00 am (late check-out upon availability for additional charge)
• Superior ocean view, one-level floor plan, approximately 1,808 square feet
• Top floor end/corner unit, one level of stairs to entry
• Interior Rating: Deluxe
• AC throughout
• 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms
• Master Suite – ocean view, AC, king bed, full bath tub with shower, access to lanai
• Second Suite – twin beds (convert to king), AC, TV, full bath with walk in shower, private lanai
• TV/DVD/VCR in living room, AC, Tommy Bahama furnishings, private ocean view lanai
• Granite counter tops, stainless designer appliances
• Floor futons available for 5th & 6th guests
• Wireless hi-speed internet, in-room safe
• Washer and dryer, open parking
Thank you for submitting your review. It will be processed shortly!
Matthew, Spring, TX says
Overall, we had a good experience; the check in process was easy, the staff was friendly, the condo was nicer than the photos depicted, the condo was relatively quiet, the patio views were nice. However, for the price I we paid I think the value could have been better based on the following: The AC system was not good, it was fine at night combined with the fans but if we decided to stay in during the day it was miserably hot. We were provided four washcloths for four guests and when I requested more I was politely told no and that I should use the washing machine. We were in fact doing laundry every night in order to have clean washcloths and honestly who wants to do laundry EVERY night after a long day in the sun...Other than those things we had a great stay.
Mahalo Matthew for your review and feedback. It is great to hear you enjoyed the property and its view. Apologies for the AC system, we wish you would have said something while in-house as we could have come and taken a look to ensure all is working properly. It is new and should be working perfectly, but will have someone check it out. On the towels, we do offer daily maid service or a mid-stay linen exchange for an additional fee, but those are not standard items. We look forward to hosting you on your next stay. Aloha and a hui hou.
Traci, Phoenix, AZ says
Great location and we grateful for the AC! Easy to access the unit and a short walk to baby beach. The views are awesome! We stayed here for half our stay and then went up the Princeville for second half. We would stay here again.
Jennie, Eugene, OR says
This condo was fantastic and exceeded our expectations. First of all, it was very large, with room for our family of 5 (including 3 teenagers) to spread out. The view was 10/10 and we watched the sunset from the lanai most nights. Kitchen was very well-stocked with everything we needed and more! There was even a blender, rice cooker, plenty of pots, pans, knives, etc. We were a short walk from the beach and the condo had items like beach chairs, boogie board, sand toys, and even a large cooler bag for picnics. It would have been nice to have newer smart TVs with streaming services other than Netflix (Hulu, AppleTV), but our son really enjoyed the cable for watching football. The condo had AC throughout but we didn’t use it much. We just used the ceiling fans and opened the sliding glass doors. We didn’t end up using them, but Weber grills were available just outside this unit as well as under a covered picnic area by the tennis courts. Communication was great and we were able to check in early without even asking! Thanks so much!
Mahalo Jennie for your 5-star enthusiastic 5-star review. We appreciate your thoughtful comments and we are delighted that your ohana really enjoyed the unit and the views. It is so nice to hear that you found everything you needed to feel right at home. We cannot wait to host you again soon. Aloha and a hui hou.
Philip, San Francisco, CA says
This is one of my favorite airbnb's. I found it clean, spacious, and comfortable including the king bed. The views were beautiful as the pictures and the location is great. The unit also had some beach supplies that will come in handy so check those out before heading out on your first adventure on the island. Be sure to check the booklet on the coffee table for wifi and additional info. I overlooked this material and Paarish customer service got back to me quickly. Would recommend to friends and family. Book with confidence!
Mahalo Philip for your 5-star review and comments. We are so happy to hear how much you loved the unit and its location. We are glad you found everything that you found everything you needed to help you feel right at home during your stay. We appreciate your recommendations and look forward to hosting you again soon. Aloha and a hui hou!
Laura, Vancouver, WA says
Nice place, close to beaches. Kitchen was well stocked.
Mahalo Laura for your review and comments. We are glad that you love the unit, its location, and that you found everything you need to feel right at home. We hope to host you again soon. Aloha.
Danielle M. says
Our stovetop went out the first day and the owner had it replaced within a day. Staff was friendly and attentive. We were literally within one block of Poipu beach and had an incredible view of the ocean! I highly recommend this place!
Mahalo Danielle for your 5-star review and recommendation.
The view, the location and the air conditioning.
The amazing wonderful view, the location and having air conditioning. It was a little confusing finding the office with the drop box at 11.30pm in the dark, but we did get a response from our call to the emergency number and was able to resolve our issue. Kevin at Nihi Kai helped locate a ring I left behind and he’s sending it to me! Yay!!
Nice place to stay
Very good stay. Nice, comfortable Condo very close to the beaches in Poipu. Unit was as advertised and the staff was great. Two minor issues were poor lighting in the “lining room” at night and the sliding doors are very hard to open and close – need maintenance. All in all we would stay there again.
Mahalo for your review and comments. We will look into the lighting and doors to ensure all is in working order. We look forward to hosting you again soon.
820 is very classy and comfortable.
We are ‘view’ people and this is lovely. Your place is nicely full of provisions for folks who like to cook in. Specially appreciated touches were a juicer, a french press, a magnifying mirror in the master suite. How clever are the drying rack on the lanai. Some favorites: Ai Nina Kai Gardens, hiking NouNou Mountain, walk to Maha’ulephu and Ha’ula Beach. And of course snorkeling (thanks for sharing the equipment), dolphin & whale watching and SUNSETS!! Binoculars are a nice touch. Aloha & Mahalo Joe & Marie from Issaquah WZ.
UPDATE: Air Conditioning Added in October 2018
New split system air conditioning throughout entire unit.
lori b. says
Nice place—but sadly, with issues.
The house was well-stocked with beach chairs, coolers, boogie boards, beach umbrellas, tennis rackets and balls. All kitchen items were decent, salt and pepper oil and vinegar some spices. The gas grill is conveniently located right near the condo. The view is great, just a beautiful view of the ocean and sunset. The beds were comfortable. It’s a well-furnished place, with two bathrooms. The biggest issue was the heat. I booked our Kauai vacation back in April when there were no reviews of this property. I did a VRBO search of properties based on the searchable features with the box of “Air Conditioning” checked. That was my only criteria, knowing that it gets really hot in July in Hawaii. Nowhere in the description did it say at the time that I booked it – “portable AC in bedroom only”. I passed over other properties that listed their AC as one room only. That had to have been added later after the reviews started coming in. It was uncomfortably hot, and the air conditioner barely keeps the bedroom cool. We had to leave the blinds shut during the day to keep it at 85 degrees inside this second floor unit. It was unbearable. But we were out most of the day. By 5pm it cools down, but we had to keep the fans going constantly to do so. Another issue sadly, was bugs. We noticed a large cockroach in the kitchen, and small ones in the bathrooms on the first night. The management company quickly came and treated the place a day later, and I didn’t see any others until the last day when we were packing to leave. Overall, the people managing the place were accommodating about this. But it was unsettling. One minor inconvenience, the hot tub is built into the pool, and it is not hot. It’s the same temperature as the pool itself. So basically the hot tub is just a mini-pool. The grounds were ok, but didn’t seem too well cared for. This whole place needs a revamp. They told us central air is coming to the unit.
Aloha Lori, Mahalo for taking the time to post our review. As we discussed when you were here, we do not advertise this unit as having AC so I am not sure were the confusion is. You will be happy to know that we do have Nihi Kai units with AC (either partial or full). We apologize on the unwanted pests. The AOAO has the property on a quarterly treatment rotation, but occasionally they do penetrate the barrier. We are sorry for any discomfort. Also not, the small pool has never been a hot tub nor is advertised as one. Lastly, we are sorry to hear you feel the grounds are not “well cared for”. This is one of the highlights of the property and we pretty much always get high praise. In any event, we are sorry you were disappointed and hope to be able to host you again so that we can make amends. Aloha and a hui hou.
Unit 820 needs a serious remodel
Beautiful view from lanai. close to Brenekees Beach park and restaurant. Unit 820 is at the top end building so if one has walking problems this is not the building for them. This unit needs serious updating and has no AC except for a portable one in the master bedroom which didn’t function as intended and needs upgrading to a larger one. The unit get unbearably hot and should have AC which I believe they are planning on installing soon. This was classed as a premier unit but is definitely not except for the view only. appliance and furnishing were shoddy and the whole interior felt less than clean. The screens were caked with dirt along with the tops of washer/dryer and TV cabinets. The twin beds were tiny and the bedding dated. I would not stay in this unit again unless it had full AC and decent interior fittings.
Mahalo Faraway’ for your comments. We apologize on the misses on our cleaning. I see that we did come back and addressed the cleaning and had the windows cleaned. Normally, we try to have them done prior to arrival, but we missed it this time. Again, we apologize for any inconvenience. I also wanted to let you know the owner has installed AC throughout, so it is now nice and cool. Mahalo.
Misleading description, sleeps 4 not 6 and AC consists of small portable unit. HOT! Location good.
My husband and I were here with our daughter and son in law and grandchildren recently. There were many good things about this unit Including a great view, great location, and beautiful furnishings and art. The kitchen was well equipped and there is lots of storage. There were boogie boards and beach chairs umbrellas and some snorkeling masks in the closet. (NO baby things. No portacrib, or high chair.) If you have a baby you’ll have to rent these things and make arrangements in advance. Do it early! By the time we found this out they were not available, rental places were sold out, except one place that wanted $90 for delivery. My reasons for a low rating are these: In the posting we read it stated the unit slept 6. When we arrived, we found there was a nice size king bed in the master, two twins in the second bedroom, and some very thin old flip foam mats. The couch did not pull out and there was no futon as listed. As pricing for units are usually based largely on how many they sleep, I did not feel throwing a few thin flip mats in a closet counts as sleeping two extra people. The unit sleeps 4 period. The unit also stated it had two full baths with tubs. This was important to us as we brought our young grand children. There is one tub and one shower. Another reason for the low ratting is, in the listing we saw, under amenities, AC was listed. This was important to us as we go to Kauai in the summer largely to escape the Sacramento heat. The AC in this unit consists of one portable AC unit in the master bedroom. It barely cools one room. The place was stifling hot despite our best efforts of making use of pull down screens and fans and the breeze, we could not get the unit to cool down. It was too hot to cook in or use the included closet stack clothes dryer. We finally all took cool showers and tried to sleep with fans directly on us. It’s a top floor unit and the sun hits the place all afternoon. This may be a good unit for a couple. As I mentioned the furnishing are nice, but for our purposes not practical. The romantic lighting is very low, too low for reading. The very nice couch is great for sitting but not comfortable for sleeping on at all. Oh and families beware of some awkward questions from the little ones about why the ladies on the lamps have no tops on. To be fair my husband had no issues with the lamps. As I said the unit is best suited to an adult couple.
Aloha Kathleen, As we did mentioned before you arrived, we do not supply baby items for safety and sanitary reasons and partner with a great local company that specializes maintaining a great supply of baby items. Our online descriptions do say “Floor futons available for 5th & 6th guests” and we apologize for any confusion. Also, we do not advertise two tubs in this unit, actually one tub (in the master) and one walk-in shower (in guest bedroom). We also state “Portable AC Cooler – bedroom only” and do not advertise full AC. Again, we apologize for any confusion. The good news is the AOAO Board just approved AC and this owner is working to have it installed throughout the unit later this year. Mahalo.
Gregory S. says
Very nice condo, great views
My wife and I just finished a five nite trip to Kauai. I booked this condo with no previous reviews, so I was hoping everything would be OK, and it was. Nihi Kai is a condo complex across the street from the ocean, just east of Poipu Beach park. The property gently slopes uphill and building 8 is at the top. Parking is easy because you drive up to a back lot adjacent to the condo. Unit 820 is up a flight of 12 steps. No elevator unfortunately. It has two bedrooms, each with attached bath. There is a large living/dining room and the whole place is furnished nicely. The living room and bedrooms have ceiling fans. There is a portable air conditioner unit in the master bedroom. The condo has louver windows all around, so when the trade winds are blowing it cools the unit down quickly. But it can get a little stuffy sometimes. There are several floor fans in the closets if you need them. There is a lanai overlooking the parking lot and leading off the second bedroom. The lot has brilliant purple bougainvillea flowers on the far slope. The main deck has a great panorama of the ocean, Poipu Beach park, rolling green hills and mountains in the distance. We ate breakfast out there each morning to soak in the views. Below are a number of tropical trees, full of chirping birds in the morning. There is a full kitchen and plenty of dining space. There are beach chairs, masks, fins and snorkels in the living room closet. Poipu Beach park is walkable, especially on a nice day when their parking is full. The one area restaurant/bar, Brennecke’s, is across the street from the park in case you want to drink a few and walk back. The condo has a washer/dryer unit and a large bookcase in the second bedroom with a wide variety from John Clancy to Sue Grafton, and some non-fiction as well. The complex pool is about a five minute walk and is right across the street from the lava covered beach. One morning we were there at 10 am and nobody else was by the pool. Nice time relaxing in the sun. The complex office is only open M-F during business hours. There are TVs with cable in the two bedrooms and the living room but I found them difficult to operate. Maybe better directions would help. There were no directions for the room air conditioner, those would have been handy. I highly recommend this condo. It is an end unit, nobody above you, nobody to one side. Very quiet at nite. We were always able to park footsteps from the place
Mahalo Gregory for your 5-star review and comments. Great overview. Please know that while our office is only open M-F, we do have staff on-site seven days a week and have an emergency line 24/7. We apologize on the TV’s. We will look at adding some instructions for them and the AC. We look forward to hosting you again soon. A hui hou.
Great views, quiet, well maintained.
We stayed five nights in unit 820 in the back of the complex and above other buildings. Our condo was an end unit with nobody above or to one side of us. It was quiet.
From the balcony we could see the ocean, Poipu Beach park, rolling green hills and distant mountains. They have a nice pool in the front of the complex, just across the road from the lava rock beach. One morning we had it to ourselves at 10 am.
The office is only open 8-5 M-F. You are paying for room to spread out and make some of your own meals, not for on site restaurant, concierge or doorman. Pretend its your second home.
The grounds are well maintained and full of tropical trees and Bougainvillea flowers. Our condo had beach toys available in a closet and a full kitchen.
There are no comments available for this review
Perfect Condo - Stunning View and Amazing Location
We stayed in the Nihi Kai Villa #820 for 8 days in May. The location is perfect. It is the last unit on the road (no through traffic and perfectly quiet). The views are amazing from this condo. The sunset is breath taking. Google this specific unit to check out what I am talking about. The kitchen was so nice to have. We grilled some fish (on the grill right outside the condo’s door), picked some mangos from the tree next to the grill, and ate outside on the porch as the sun was setting. We felt like we were at a five star restaurant, except our meal cost $45 for 4 people (instead of $25/plate for the same view at local restaurant). Walking distance to Brennecke’s Beach (5 min walk if you are crawling). This is one of the best boogie boarding beaches on Kauai and it was so nice to be within walking distance. Snorkeling is just around the corner from Brennecke’s Beach. The location in Poipu is also very nice. It is located near many shopping centers, restaurants, and grocery stores. We traveled all over the island, but you could stay within walking distance of this condo and have everything you need. This is an amazing condo. We only hope that someday we can return!
We had a wonderful time
Parrish personnel were great. All questions were answered and any needs were immediately handled. Our condo was what we expected (nice) and our weather was wonderful.
Great condo with fabulous views!
We stayed in Nihi Kai #820 from June 10-21, 2011. We requested an early check-in with Parrish and when we arrived at 12:15 p.m., our condo was cleaned and ready with flowers, a welcome basket and groceries (I sent a list to Parrish a few weeks prior to our arrival). We were able to unwind immediately. We decided to have a cold beer and make sandwiches and enjoy the fabulous views of the Poipu coastline. The condo is in building 8, up the hill but only a 5 minute walk to the pool and beach. We really enjoyed the amazing views and spent a lot of time on the lanai enjoying the sunsets. The kitchen in #820 was also amazing. New appliances, large refrigerator and granite counter tops. The owners also remodeled the kitchen with an island in the middle for easy access to the entire kitchen. (Other Nihi Kai units only have one way to get into the kitchen and we found that to be an issue with more than one person in the kitchen). The kitchen is also very well equipped with everything we needed to cook dinner. The BBQ is right outside the door at the end of the parking lot which was a nice surprise! There is only ½ flight of stairs to reach the front door of the condo. This unit is very nicely decorated; all of the furniture is new and the decorations are in a Tommy Bahama style, which we really enjoyed. A lot of condos have the wicker furniture, which I’m not fond of. There is an a/C unit in the master bedroom and we used that on occasion to cool down the master bedroom before going to bed (it was a little more humid on this trip because of the extra rain). The condo also has a nice cross breeze which kept the living and dining rooms cool and comfortable throughout the day. The condo also felt very spacious with an open floor plan so we had plenty of room to spread out and relax. I spent a lot of time on the lanai reading and enjoying the views. We really enjoyed staying in #820 and will probably stay there again on our next trip.
Great views from the patio
A slight problem with tiny ants in the kitchen so kept all food well-sealed and some things even in refrigerator . Would prefer a tv in the master bedroom. Master bedroom mattress could be a little softer as well as down pillows, perhaps – both a bit too firm but we know that’s a personal preference. All in all a wonderful location, well-equipped from kitchen to beach toys.
Ya Gotta Love It!!
Hubby and I plus dear friends who are time share owners with you, had a wonderful time this winter in 820. The condo was everything one could ask for. The view to the ocean gave us the perfect spot to watch the whales which was one of the reasons for coming. Thank you. Leeanna and Leland Reich
Bozeman MT says
We have rented and owned a timeshare unit at Nihi Kai for many years. Unit 820 is the most beautifully furnished and outfitted condo we have ever stayed in. And, the view of the ocean is incredible. We shared the unit with my sis and her husband, who have been to Nihi Kai in the summer, but, never in the winter. They were entranced by the view from the lanai of the whales, which was spectacular. They spent many hours looking through their binoculars. Everything about this condo is well maintained, comfortable, and beautiful. We highly recommend unit 820 as a rental at Nihi Kai.
I have never written a bad review. We travel frequently and are well aware that not every accommodation meets expectations, however, Nihi Kai #820 not only didn’t come close to meeting our expectations, but the Parrish Agency were completely unhelpful. We stayed at the condo the week prior to Christmas. When we arrived the condo was musty and stale smelling and there were mouse droppings all over the kitchen area – on the floor, the counters, the window sill, and the pantry door. The kitchen sink faucet was broken and the place was tidy but unclean. The furniture was old and outdated and everything seemed dirty – from the drawers to the bedspreads to the lanai furniture that was filthy. We called the agency immediately and left a message as it was just after 5 pm on a Sunday. No one called us back so after a couple hours of waiting we cleaned the condo and stayed the night. The next day someone finally called us late in the morning, saying they had emergencies and couldn’t call us that night. They said they would fix the faucet and set mouse traps. They did fix the faucet, but they did not set traps. I told them I did not think the condo should be rated Premium, that it was dirty, and that the price did not reflect the furnishings. the woman on the phone actually said, “I’ve never been to that condo, but I’m looking at the same pictures you saw on the internet. You knew what you were getting.” So much for customer service. Previously to Poipu we stayed in Princeville for 4 days at a lovely condo that was less expensive and lived up to it’s Premium status – in furnishings, cleanliness, and quality of customer service by the agency. I do not recommend Nihi Kai and I would never work with Parrish again.
Aloha, we are very sorry to hear that you would not want to stay with us again and that you found the unit below your expectations. We feel the unit is well described and it clearly falls within our Premier category. Other reviews of the unit seem to concur. In regards to our response on Sunday, we always address emergencies after hours and send maintenance and housekeeping as soon as possible. In this case, as we told you that night, we are sorry we did not have anyone to address your complaints that night, however we feel all issues were dealt with as quickly as possible the next morning. As you were aware, Nihi Kai does not have air conditioning and for security purposes, we keep the units closed prior to your arrival. Guests have found that upon arrival, opening the unit and letting the trades in clears up any stuffiness caused by the warm tropical environment. As we discussed with you after inspection, there was no evidence of mice, but was just proof of our friendly island geckos co-inhabiting the unit. Actually, we find these helpful as they eat errant mosquitos and gnats. However, per your demand, we installed traps and ultimately removed them with no activity. Our records also show that our Guest Services Manager made several attempts to reach you to discuss the situation but our calls went unanswered or returned. We hope that you will reconsider returning with us at some point in the future.
After a terrible experience with another rental company in Kauai, I found Parrish Collection very refreshing and helpful. Everyone that I spoke with was very friendly. They went out of their way to ensure my stay was comfortable and that I had everything I needed. The condo was very clean and in very good shape. It was stocked with everything that one could need during a visit to Kauai. i highly recommend The Parrish Collection Kauai and will definitely deal with them for future trips.
Best condo yet!
I loved #820! It had everything from a well stocked kitchen to beach chairs and beach toys. The furnishings were outstanding and oh, so comfortable. Wonderful beds with extra bedding. We stayed one week and wished we’d never had to move to another condo. Spectacular view. Everything about this unit was outstanding and I plan to go back soon. Thank you so much for a much needed vacation. Your unit made this vacation the best yet. Thanks for sharing. Kathy
Another great week in Poipu
My wife and I celebrated our 35th anniversary in this unit, and it was perfect. It has the best views in Nihi Kai, and is very quiet, with neighbors only below and on one side. We could walk to many of our favorite spots (Shipwreck, Brennecke Beach, etc.) without breaking a sweat. We’ve stayed in many condos on Kauai, and this was our favorite stay.
Poipu was sunnier than the rest of the island – as advertised. Loved the area for the turtles, seals and places to walk. The condo was equiped with everything and very comfortable. The sunsets from the lanai were beautiful. Hope I get back someday
Beautiful Condo/Outstanding Ocean view
Extraordinary value, beautiful furnishings-luxury, fantastic view. Short walk to beach. I was on a business trip but it felt like a vacation. Can’t go wrong with this unit.
ANNUAL KAUAI VISIT
The unit was nice,clean and quiet. It has a wonderful view of the ocean and garden. We were not far from Poipou beach and had the best seat for the New year fireworks-and whales sightings right from our deck. The staff was very nice and responsive to our other needs- like having a rice cooker and how to work the DVD. one small problem we had was mosquitoes were able to get in through the screen doors during this rainy season. We enjoyed our visit with our daughter and grandchildren and will return and use Parrish collection again.