Nihi Kai Villas #831

1870 Ho'one Road #831 , Koloa, HI 96756
2 Bedrooms 2 Bathrooms 4 Sleeps Poipu

Poipu Kapili is rated 4.63 out of 5. Based on 32 reviews from TripAdvisor, VRBO, Google, Booking.com and others.

One of the best locations in sunny Poipu Beach Kauai, Nihi Kai Villas Resort is just steps away from the Poipu shoreline and a little over 300 yards to world-famous body surfing Brennecke’s Beach and Poipu Beach Park. The plantation style architecture at this small island oasis by the sea is surrounded by swaying palms, tropical flowers, fruit trees, orchids, and mature plumeria trees accented by well manicured lawns.

The Parrish Collection is a locally owned and based real estate management company that specializes in vacation rentals on Kauai and Maui. Our collections of rentals are professionally managed by in-house staff with a commitment to personalized service, fine attention to detail and a true sense of Aloha. Our team looks forward to hosting you soon.

RESORT FEATURES

• Heated oceanfront swimming pool
• Tennis courts
• Complimentary self parking
• Two community BBQ locations
• On-site front desk, Concierge and Activities services
• 24 hour emergency contact and response
• Daily maid service available (for additional charge)
• Check-in: 3:00 pm, check-out 10:00 am (late check-out upon availability for additional charge)

UNIT FEATURES

• Superior ocean view, one-level floor plan, approximately 1,500 square feet
• Top floor, two level of stairs to entry
• AC Throughout
• Interior Rating: Deluxe
• 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms
• Master Suite – king bed, AC, private ocean view lanai, full bath with walk-in shower
• Second Suite – two twin beds (convertible to king), AC, private lanai, full bath with walk-in shower
• Smart TV in living room, private ocean view lanai
• Wireless hi-speed internet, in-room safe
• Washer and dryer, open parking
• TA-146-395-7504-01
• GE-146-395-7504-01

  • Beach Essentials
  • Dryer
  • Free Parking
  • Washer
  • Resort Pool
  • Heated Pool
  • Wireless Internet
  • Resort Parking - Unassigned
  • Air Conditioning
  • Ocean View
  • Water View
  • One Level Floor Plan
LEAVE A REVIEW
Erika E. says
November, 2022

Amazing view from the balcony

Super cute updated and spacious unit on the top floor of the highest building in the complex, which gave us great views and cross breezes. Terrific location in a quiet part of Poipu but super close to great beaches. Would stay here again for sure.

slimschmittie says
January, 2022

Recently Renovated & A/C Throughout

We stayed here in January of 2022, and were quite impressed. The unit was just remodeled, and of the 5 units at Nihi Kai that we've stayed at, this is the nicest. It features A/C in every room, a well equipped kitchen, and a relatively large TV. The internet was impressively fast as well at about half a gig. The sliding screen doors are completely shot and constantly fall off their tracks, the balcony is "shared" with the next unit over and the partial dividing wall doesn't stop any sound, and the decor is a bit spartan, but aside from that you'd probably be hard pressed to do better at Nihi Kai. The view is top notch.

Mahalo "slim" for the 5-star review and comments. Glad you like the updates and we will pass the comments on to the owner. They will be excited. We will address the sliders as well. Aloha

LAURA T. says
November, 2021

Honeymoon

Great location! Perfect for our wedding at Shipwrecks Beach. Clean, spacious, and awesome views of the ocean. I wish we would of been notified of the construction that was occurring right in front of our building prior to booking. But we made the best of it. Would absolutely return once the construction is complete.

Mahalo Laura for your 5-star review and comments. We are so happy that you chose to celebrate your honeymoon at Nihi Kai Villas #831. The construction is on track to be completed at the end of December 2021. We are sorry that you were not notified but we are happy that it did not disrupt your stay. We are already looking forward to hosting you again soon. Aloha.

Megan S. says
June, 2021

Perfection

It was the perfect place to stay. Felt amazing walking in these doors after a long day of adventure.
Ashish says
May, 2021

This user only left a rating
Terry B. says
March, 2020

Great view

Nice property at Nihi Kai.
Mahalo Terry for your 5-star review and comments. It is great to hear that you loved your stay at Nihi Kai! We are already looking forward to hosting you again. Mahalo and a hui hou!
Christy M. says
July, 2019

Nice Place

Everything here was great! 2yo and 4 yo and 2 adults. Linens, towels, great beach accessories, coolers, and kitchen stuff.
Bay Area says
April, 2019

Wonderful view

The view from this unit is fantastic! It is our favorite unit at Nihi Kai.
Patti Z. says
October, 2018

This place was a perfect location, had everything we needed, and the view is amazing.

It was very hot. I would stay here again if AC was added.
Aloha Patti, we are sorry the trades did not cool things off as usual. I am happy to say that we have many units at Nihi Kai with AC for your next trip. We look forward to hosting you again soon.
Rebekah J. says
October, 2018

Fantastic location and comfortable condo!

We’ve stayed in Poipu a couple of times and this condo was fantastic for our family. We would definitely stay here again!
Razvan B. says
July, 2018

Fantastic stay!

We loved our stay at Nihi Kai Villas. The condo was perfect for us, very well equipped, plenty of room. The beach is at the door and the view is spectacular. We can not say enough about our week’s visit and would definitely recommend this location if you are considering a visit to Kauai.
Susan J. says
June, 2018

The property and unit #831 were fantastic!

Unit 831 was comfortable and easy! From the check in process to the awesome view this was a great place to stay. The unit was a little warm, but easily solved with the fans provided. We were comfortable and found everything that we needed to enjoy our vacation. Unit 831 offers a beautiful view and clean, simple no frills comforts. There are a few things that perhaps could use an upgrade but they honestly did not get in the way or affect our total satisfaction.
katsura , (JP) says
March, 2018

満足

???? ビーチが近い ロケーションが良かった ???? 全体的に古い作り でも きちんとしてた
Kathi W. says
November, 2017

Lovely grounds, condo was fine, with adequate appliances and all the important provisions. Nice and

Great location, great view from the lanai. No A/c, but we figured out how to keep it aired out.
Anonymous says
October, 2017

Good

There are no comments available for this review
Petra J. says
October, 2017

Fantastic

We had a wonderful stay at the Nihi Kai Villas. The property is well kept and very pretty. Our apt. on the 3rd floor with the great view was a place to relax and enjoy aloha. The location is just a few steps away from the beach and a very good restaurant. Would love to be back!
Janet Borthwick , (AU) says
August, 2017

The condo had everything but air conditioning. Great views.

???? The rooms were large with very comfortable beds. ???? We really needed air conditioning in August, however there were numerous fans in the condo. The condo was very hot inside.
Barbara F. says
July, 2017

Excellent view, high ceiling condo was wonderful!

It was VERY HOT – never seemed to cool off at night or in the morning. Fans helped but tough to sleep. Otherwise, it was a fabulous experience!
Aloha Barbara, Mahalo for taking the time to write a review. Kauai is a tropical environment and it does get warm at times (especially during the summer), but typically, most people find that opening the windows and doors and letting the trades blow through is enough to make things comfortable. We are sorry for any inconvenience and do want to let you know we do offer options with air conditioning for your next stay. In the end, we are glad you had a fabulous time and we look forward to hosting you again soon. A hui hou!
laura b. says
July, 2017

This condo has a beautiful view up on the hill looking out over the water

This condo is very dated and does not have that personal touch that we have experienced at other condos in Hawaii. The condo had the very basic utensils and absolutely no condiments whatsoever except a salt and pepper shaker. If you wanted to cook any meal or breakfast you would need to buy all of the basic essentials. We stayed up in a condo in Princeville for 2 days and it was completely stocked with even the simplest of your needs. There was plenty of room for our family as the boys 21,17 had a room of there own. The view was beautiful and I would give it a 5/5 but like I mentioned earlier this condo lacks any personal touch to it and be prepared to buy ALL of your condiments if you want to cook. I would probably not stay at this condo again .
Aloha Laura, Mahalo for taking the time to post your review. We take great lengths to photograph and describe all units. This unit is rated an “island casual” and we do state that “Although not recently updated, these unique properties provide value and comfort for your family, yet still meet Parrish Kauai’s minimum quality standards.”. We are sorry you were surprised as I do see you booked it directly online, so we assume you reviewed all this prior to booking. In terms of condiments, this is a conscious decision as we think it is more sanitary, healthier and safe not to have other people’s food items left in the units. Please know we are happy to supply any food items that you require as long as you give a note ahead of time. Again, we are sorry and hope you will reconsider when you travel to Kauai again. Mahalo.
Marilee W. says
October, 2016

What a view

Enjoyed the roomy condo, high ceilings and amazing views. We made it a point to watch the gorgeous sunsets from the deck. The older condo is in a great location and an easy walk to the ocean. We were there the middle of Oct and wished the nights cooled off more. So the only change I’d like to see is the addition of AC which is why I have it 4 not 5 stars.
Mahalo Marilee for the review. We are glad you got to enjoy the great views from above Poipu…they really are great, especially this time of year. Right now there is limited capacity to add AC (now only one small unit in the bedroom) but it is something that we will certainly pass on to the owners and Board of Nihi Kai Villas. We look forward to hosting you again soon.
Anonymous says
October, 2016

Nihi Kai 831: Stifling Heat, Dishonest Parrish Management

We have been visiting Kauai each year for almost 25 years. This year we chose Nihi Kai 831 to stay in. Although the decor looked dated in the photos, the view looked beautiful. Due to the construction of the building the temperature in the unit stayed consistently in between 96 and 100 F (36 – 38 C), while outside temperature never exceeded 86 F (30 C). There were no trade winds, just full sun keeping it hot all day. At night when you would expect the temperature to drop, there was no relief. Parrish, the management company, provided a couple of fans but that only blew the hot air around. After 11 days of trying to stick it out, we both felt ill from the unrelenting heat. When we contacted Parrish to resolve the matter, they offered to move us to another unit that was not better and wanted to charge us an additional $ 90 per night on top of the full amount we had already paid for more than 3 weeks. Parrish said nobody had complained before but I’ve since read several reviews stating how hot Nihi Kai 831 is. We’ve since moved and have lost our full amount paid. They never offered any refund or credit. Parrish was very unsympathetic and we would never book through them again. With all we learned the real problem is not with the particular unit. The problem is the Parrish communication on it. The unit should not be on the market for the first place. If it is – Parrish should clearly and transparently inform potential clients that they will be exposed to extreme temperatures, creating the health hazards due to overheating and dehydration. Should clients accept it – it is fine, but I would certainly go for something else. But there is no word about the hazards on Parrish internet offer, I was not informed about it during selection and booking process and not warned even after arrival. In other words – Parrish market communication is misleading and not honest. If you are still going to book through Parrish, please note that every place they partially manage, has also other management companies, perhaps smaller, but contrary to Parish friendly, working through weekends and long hours, offering more services and – what is most important – providing honest, transparent information and helping with the proper choice. Go to them to save your vacations.
Aloha Piotr We are very sorry you had an uncomfortable stay and chose to leave early rather than allow us to even have a conversation about alternative accommodations. Our listings follow, and in many ways exceed, the industry standard and feel the 15 additional reviews on 831 add different guest perspectives. We agree, there are periods when the trades are not blowing and it gets warm across the island. We cannot argue with that…especially during late summer/really fall when you visited. We did what was within our power to try to make you comfortable and we are sorry it was not enough. You asked to move via email and we sent you a few options and told you to call us to discuss further. Following up that day, we tried you several times on your cell and in the unit to no avail. You chose to end the discussion by checking out early and not giving us the opportunity to help further. I am sure had that call happened, we would have found something that would have worked to mutual benefit. We pride ourselves on being great hosts and are sorry we did not have the opportunity to do that here. Mahalo, Parrish Kauai
Tracy B. says
March, 2016

Great condo with beautiful view and great location!

We loved our stay at Nihi Kai #831! The condo was roomy, clean, comfortable, had everything we needed, and was in a convenient location; close to beaches, activities, and restaurants. We loved our stay. Condo is great for a couple who wants lots of room and a great view, or plenty of space for a family as well! Things we loved: – The view is great! We watched Humpback whales breaching from the patio with binoculars! Breakfast and sunset and a snack on the patio were both fabulous. – Kitchen is well stocked with quality cookware and equipment. (Much better than many condos we’ve stayed in!) – Condo was roomy and was stocked everything we needed; towels, beach chairs, beach umbrella, coolers, washer/dryer, games, books…you name it! – Condo grounds are beautiful and very well maintained. – Ample parking – Close to good restaurants both in Poipu and Koloa and Big Save grocery in Koloa. – Close to lots of nice beaches for playing, relaxing, swimming, and snorkeling. We had our best luck snorkeling at Poipu beach within walking distance of the condo! You’re also close to beaches on the west coast and an hour from Waimea Canyon. Booking was easy and straightforward as well. No drawbacks really. We loved our stay and would stay here again!
MidwestKC says
January, 2014

2 Condos...Too Fun!!

Unfortunately, even renting 7 months out, we still couldn’t find side-by-side condos for 4 adults, one 5.6 year old, and twin 18 month olds. BUT, condos 823 and 827 still worked fine!! 827 way larger, so parents and twins each had separate bedrooms. Very large rooms and lanai allowed for lots of play room. Walk to beach was welcome exercise for all, except 5.6 year old!;-) At night, walked down to find sea turtle on beach. Also saw 2 sea turtles swimming in day time from road; seal monk, etc! Each had washer/dryers; dishwasher; beach chairs; bought a boogie board. Fireworks on New Year’s Eve spectacular from lanai…no need to keep babies up and fight crowds on beach! 827 a little mustier-smelling in 2nd bedroom…no one but Grammy seemed to notice!
LocalGirl55 says
May, 2012

Excellent Choice for a Family!

Three of us stayed: Myself, my husband, and his sister. On some days her friend joined us as well. Nihi Kai is well placed just blocks from Brenneke’s and Poipu beaches. Excellent restaurants are nearby, as well as pretty good shopping. The office was not open when we checked in, or when we checked out, but both operations were glitch-free and easy. The pool is well maintained, the room was clean, and the view from this unit is spectacular. The sunsets are amazing. The beds are comfortable, and the washer/dryer stack in the room was a lifesaver. Watch out for the ants though. They were there last year and have not moved. Best bet is to keep garbage in the freezer and be sure to keep all crumbs and spills wiped up. The vanity lights in the bathroom still give off way too much heat. Beach chairs, coolers, boogie boards, and other beach stuff is supplied. The unit also has a dishwasher. Lanais on east and west sides give you an outdoor room no matter what time of day. The unit could use some updating though. This is the second time we’ve been here, and we intend to return.
CA says
November, 2011

When can we come back?

We had a wonderful stay in Kauai. We worked with Cynthia to find this unit and so very happy that she was able to get us in for our stay. It was great we couldn’t be happier. The view is phenomenal, waking up to look out (from the bed) at the ocean, valley and mountain was so … fantastic. We never slept so well. Sunsets… Well words cannot describe… you just have to see it. The condo was comfortable and spacious, since we were there with a group we visited other condos in the area and liked ours the best! We had a blender malfunction (simply a no no) but the staff knew the importance of a blend and very quickly replaced it for us with a brand new one (yeah!). The ants that everyone mentions were true they are tiny little buggers (not like the ants we have here in California) but if you leave something out they will appear out of nowhere and you will have an army of ants. Bring ziplock bags and store items in fridge. We found 3 boogy boards, plenty of chairs, a cooler and we added a sun umbrella to the collection of items available for guests to use (thank you previous guests). All in all we would definately come back and want to stay in unit 831. When you go you have to eat at Casa di amici, Pizzetas in Koloa, the Plantation Gardens (awesome coconut shrimp) and Lapperts ice cream (we discovered Lapperts on our last day – luckily for us). Mahalo!
Washington, USA says
May, 2011

We Want To Stay Forever!

The condo was everything we expected it to be: Clean, relatively quiet, very comfortable, well equipped with chairs, water toys, coolers… The only negative was the remodeling going on next door, but we weren’t home that much during the day. The view from unit 831 is spectacular. Do heed the warnings to seal food up, the ants come out at the least temptation. The roosters crow all night, but they are far enough away to be more comforting than annoying. But beware: if the trade winds aren’t blowing (they weren’t for our visit) the west lanai gets unbearably hot, the east lanai stays very cool. Ahhh! We would loved to have stayed a month or more! Kauai was nice, too. Don’t miss the Tubing adventure, the water is cool and refreshing.
san diego ca. says
April, 2011

Scenic boot camp

Can’t beat the view, the location for running on the trail to the Hyatt, can walk to all the great restaurants. The condo is spacious and very quiet. Loved it all except the trillion pesky little ants…but they can’t possibly eat much!
Japan says
July, 2010

Ideal and valuable vacation!

As many other reviewers have commented, the sun-set view from the large lanai is magnificent. It is as if you owned the entire beach and the sunset. The unit is very well maintained and managed though it is a little dated. All the appliances functioned well enough including the in-unit washing machie/dryer, which were very convenient. There are two supermarkets within 5 min drive and many restaurants. The gorgeous Poipu beach is so close that you can enjoy the sound of the waves all day long.
California says
August, 2009

Great view

Best location at the Nihi Kai and although the condo could use some updating it more than met our needs. The furnishings were comfortable and the kitchen was stocked with utensils and pots/pans, and the dishes were not plastic as they have been in other condos where we’ve stayed at Nihi Kai. This is our fourth trip to Nihi Kai and bldg 8 is our choice. My one request of Parrish is that they ensure a standard set of beach supplies in each condo — 2 chairs, an umbrella and a small cooler.
Southeast Wisconsin says
May, 2009

Hard to Leave

We have stayed at the Nihi Kai Villas in the past. This was our first time in unit #831. There are a lot of stairs, but, what a magnificent view! I hesitate to recommend this unit because someone else has already booked it for the time we plan to vacation in Kauai in 2010. The Parrish Collection does an excellent job managing the property. This was our third stay at the Nihi Kai and the next trip is already planned. The villa’s proximity to the Poipu Beach makes this property an ideal location for a family vacation or a get-away for two. One word of advice–It is a long way to Kauai. Make your stay at least 10 days–or more. Aloha!
Oregon says
May, 2009

Outragous panoramic ocean view!

We rented this two bedroom home with another couple. We love Kauai and have visited many times and have found the Poipu area to be our favorite. Great snorkeling right there and at nearby beaches. Saw turtles from shore and while snorkeling. Saw porpoise from shore. Gorgeous sunsets! The view from this lanai and master bedroom is stunning! Panoramic view from the entire coastline to the mountains! The condo was furnished nicely though the kitchen is needing some updating. Not fancy but good value for the money. The only negative issue was that if you are renting with another couple there is no privacy because the interior doors are all louvered.
Southern California says
September, 2008

Poipu the best

we stayed at Nihi Kai villas as I have done in years past. as usuall the place is great, wonderfull surroundings and the location to the beach is best. It is also located where we play alot. the beachs are the best along with the weather. the north shore side is to rainy for me, east side to windy. Poipu is the best.the accomidations is perfect what we were looking for and the units are spacious and gives a great Hawaii atomsphere.
May 2024
S M T W T F S
      01 02 03 04
05 06 07 08 09 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26
$300
27
$300
28
$300
29
$300
30
$300
31
$300
 
June 2024
S M T W T F S
            01
$335
02
$335
03
$335
04
$335
05
$335
06
$335
07
$335
08
$335
09
$335
10
$335
11
$335
12
$335
13
$335
14
$335
15
$335
16
$335
17
$335
18
$335
19
$335
20
$335
21
$335
22
$335
23
$335
24
$335
25
$335
26
$335
27
$335
28
$335
29
$335
30
$335
           
July 2024
S M T W T F S
  01
$335
02
$335
03
$335
04
$335
05
$335
06
$335
07
$335
08
$335
09
$335
10
$335
11
$335
12
$335
13
$335
14
$335
15
$335
16
$335
17
$335
18
$335
19
$335
20
$335
21
$335
22
$335
23
$335
24
$335
25
$335
26
$335
27
$335
28
$335
29
$335
30
$335
31
$335
     
August 2024
S M T W T F S
        01
$335
02
$335
03
$335
04
$335
05
$335
06
$335
07
$335
08
$335
09
$335
10
$335
11
$335
12
$335
13
$335
14
$335
15
$335
16
$335
17
$335
18
$335
19
$300
20
$300
21
$300
22
$300
23
$300
24
$300
25
$300
26
$300
27
$300
28
$300
29
$300
30
$375
31
$375
September 2024
S M T W T F S
01
$375
02
$375
03
$300
04
$300
05
$300
06
$300
07
$300
08
$300
09
$300
10
$300
11
$300
12
$300
13
$300
14
$300
15
$300
16
$300
17
$300
18
$300
19
$300
20
$300
21
$300
22
$300
23
$300
24
$300
25
$300
26
$300
27
$300
28
$300
29
$300
30
$300
         
October 2024
S M T W T F S
    01
$375
02
$375
03
$375
04
$375
05
$375
06
$375
07
$375
08
$375
09
$375
10
$375
11
$375
12
$375
13
$375
14
$375
15
$375
16
$375
17
$375
18
$375
19
$375
20
$375
21
$375
22
$375
23
$375
24
$375
25
$375
26
$375
27
$375
28
$375
29
$375
30
$375
31
$375
   
November 2024
S M T W T F S
          01
$375
02
$375
03
$375
04
$375
05
$375
06
$375
07
$375
08
$375
09
$375
10
$375
11
$375
12
$375
13
$375
14
$375
15
$375
16
$375
17
$375
18
$375
19
$375
20
$375
21
$375
22
$550
23
$550
24
$550
25
$550
26
$550
27
$550
28
$550
29
$550
30
$550
December 2024
S M T W T F S
01
$375
02
$375
03
$375
04
$375
05
$375
06
$375
07
$375
08
$375
09
$375
10
$375
11
$375
12
$375
13
$375
14
$375
15
$375
16
$600
17
$600
18
$600
19
$600
20
$600
21
$600
22
$600
23
$600
24
$600
25
$600
26
$600
27
$600
28
$600
29
$600
30
$600
31
$600
       
January 2025
S M T W T F S
      01
$600
02
$600
03
$600
04
$600
05
$600
06
$600
07
$495
08
$495
09
$495
10
$495
11
$495
12
$495
13
$495
14
$495
15
$495
16
$495
17
$495
18
$495
19
$495
20
$495
21
$495
22
$495
23
$495
24
$495
25
$495
26
$495
27
$495
28
$495
29
$495
30
$495
31
$495
 
February 2025
S M T W T F S
            01
$495
02
$495
03
$495
04
$495
05
$495
06
$495
07
$495
08
$495
09
$495
10
$495
11
$495
12
$495
13
$495
14
$495
15
$495
16
$495
17
$495
18
$495
19
$495
20
$495
21
$495
22
$495
23
$495
24
$495
25
$495
26
$495
27
$495
28
$495
 
March 2025
S M T W T F S
            01
$495
02
$495
03
$495
04
$495
05
$495
06
$495
07
$495
08
$495
09
$495
10
$495
11
$495
12
$495
13
$495
14
$495
15
$495
16
$495
17
$495
18
$495
19
$495
20
$495
21
$495
22
$495
23
$495
24
$495
25
$495
26
$495
27
$495
28
$495
29
$495
30
$495
31
$495
         
April 2025
S M T W T F S
    01
$410
02
$410
03
$410
04
$410
05
$410
06
$410
07
$410
08
$410
09
$410
10
$410
11
$410
12
$410
13
$410
14
$410
15
$410
16
$410
17
$410
18
$410
19
$410
20
$410
21
$410
22
$410
23
$410
24
$410
25
$410
26
$410
27
$410
28
$410
29
$410
30
$410
     
May 2025
S M T W T F S
        01
$410
02
$410
03
$410
04
$410
05
$410
06
$410
07
$410
08
$410
09
$410
10
$410
11
$410
12
$410
13
$410
14
$410
15
$410
16
$410
17
$410
18
$410
19
$410
20
$410
21
$410
22
$410
23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30 31
    Available     Unavailable  Check-In Only  Check-Out Only

Detailed Quote
Save to favorites
Close Inquiry

Inquire about this property:

Request Info
Print