This unique oceanfront property is situated on the edge of a bluff providing spectacular views of the blue Pacific and the entire Poipu coastline from each unit. This small property has only 15 units, providing privacy and intimacy while being just a short walk to the world renowned Brennecke’s Beach and Poipu Beach. The sounds of the sea fill every room and each unit has full length lanais offering a great lookout for hours of watching turtles, dolphins, seasonal whales and brilliant sunsets.
Our units are described, photographed and rated so you can pick the perfect island home for you and your family.
The Parrish Collection is a locally owned and based real estate management company that specializes in vacation rentals on Kauai and Maui. Our collections of rentals are professionally managed by in-house staff with a commitment to personalized service, fine attention to detail and a true sense of Aloha. Our team looks forward to hosting you soon.
• Refreshing plunge pool
• Complimentary self parking upper and lower levels
• Community BBQ
• Access to The Parrish Collection Concierge and Activities services
• 24 hour emergency contact and response
• Daily maid service available (for additional charge)
• Check-in: 3:00 pm, check-out 10:00 am (late check-out upon availability for additional charge)
• Oceanfront, one-level floor plan, approximately 1,100 square feet
• Ground floor end unit, one level of stairs (down) to entry
• Interior Rating: Deluxe
• 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms
• Master Bedroom Suite – king bed, ocean view, TV, full bath with shower, oceanfront lanai and lawn
• Second Bedroom – two twin beds (convertible to king), garden view, shared full bath with shower
• Flat Screen TV/DVD/CD stereo in living room, oceanfront lanai and lawn
• Washer/dryer, wireless internet, in-room safe
Thank you for submitting your review. It will be processed shortly!
Our stay was wonderful - we particularly enjoyed the spacious unit and direct ocean views with nearby beach access.
Place was clean and spacious, views were great. Unfortunately AC is really needed. Way too hot at night to sleep. I would not stay again due to that factor.
Aaron, Scottsdale, AZ says
Thank you for a lovely stay! I would definitely consider coming back to this location. The twin beds in the second bedroom are quite comfortable. The master bed should probably be replaced. The boxsprings have bowed, and the top mattress is sagging quite a bit. I loved the coffee LDT as a gift for us, thank you!!! I also appreciated the grocery bags. Kitchen is well appointed. Grateful for the fans. Kept it just right. Appreciated the boogie boards for our use. Sofa was super comfy. Views of course stellar. It wouldn’t take much to earn my fifth star, but perhaps the mattress and the older aesthetics contribute. Not a deal breaker at all (bed is a distraction for me) but worthy of 4 stars for sure.
Mahalo Aaron for your review. We appreciate your comments and feedback. We are so glad that you have a lovely stay. We will surely check on that boxspring and replace it if necessary. Thank you for letting us know. We cannot wait to host you again soon. Aloha.
Jo Carol J. says
Mark, Erie, PA says
We had a great time staying right on the ocean and watching whalkes each day. The place was awesome. We really enjoyed our stay t your place!
Mahalo Mark for your five-star review! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay. We enjoyed hosting you and look forward to seeing you again soon. Aloha and a hui hou!
Lucky on Ocean
The patio view is excellent! Beautiful sunsets. Excellent location, close to many things. The walking path to Hyatt and beyond is great! The interior was dated and the kitchen set-up is terrible. Cabinets are too high and doors hard to open. Parking is Tight! The outdoor table legs(2) were repaired with duct tape. The pool is tiny and water tempt cold. Overall enjoyed the stay(ocean, turtle & whales from patio) and would be Much better with some maintenance issues addressed.
Aloha Alex. We are sorry that you feel this was a 3-star stay. We checked in several times throughout your reservation to see if everything was alright or if you needed help with anything. If we knew you were having trouble reaching the cabinets, we would have helped you find the two stepstools for that purpose. The pool is not advertised as heated and clearly specifies that it is a plunge pool. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Aloha.
David, Irvine, CA says
Michele, Draper, UT says
Quiet complex with amazing views! Sunsets on the patio were amazing.
Mahalo Michele for your 5-star review and comments. We are already looking forward to hosting you again soon!
Rohan, Los Angeles, CA says
Beautiful condo with oceanside views.Only a 12 minute walk from Poipu Beach and an hour and 15 minute drive to Hanalei Bay. Definitely recommend staying here!
Jessica, Broomfield, CO says
A great location near the beach. We chose this location because of the lawn area. We have two toddlers and appreciated the extra room to explore - they loved the geckos and the chickens!
Charlie k. says
Great trip Nice place to stay Got a rental car by the skin of our teeth Great get away
Debi H says
Nice place to stay
This condo has a great view and is in an ideal location. Parking is easy and free. Nice walk down to the rocks to see sea turtles and spouting whales in the distance. As others have commented, the photos on the VRBO website may be a bit embellished. This condo could use an upgrade as it looks as if one has not been done in quite a while. The kitchen cabinet doors do not stay closed and the cabinets are very high. While someone mentioned the addition of a step stool, the one that was purchased is more like one that a toddler would use in a bathroom and is not sufficient. The drapes are heavy and very hard to push aside on the patio doors and windows. Like many places, there is no air conditioning although many fans are available, both portable and ceiling. Beach chairs and snorkeling equipment is available however also need to be replaced as they are sun rotted and falling apart. Nice to have a washer and dryer and a dishwasher. Enjoyed using the Roku to watch our favorite shows in the evenings. Lovely walk to the beach and great area for running/walking.
Aloha Debi. We are happy that you enjoyed the condo and its location. We agree that it is an incredible place to watch the turtles and whales pass by. We to go great lengths to be sure that are units are photographed and rated to accurately reflect the condo. This unit is rated as “Deluxe”, which by definition, is a well-maintained property, updated within the last ten years. We are sorry that you did not feel this was accurate, but I guarantee the photos are not embellished. We also apologize for any trouble you had with the cabinets not closing properly and will have that addressed in addition, we will replace the beach chairs and add a more adequate step-stool in the kitchen. Mahalo for those suggestions. In the future, please let us know anything needing attention while you are in house so we can make your stay more enjoyable. We try to catch all these things, but sometimes things can be missed. In the end, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to hosting you again. A hui hou.
Michelle J. says
Good choice for accommodation in Poipu
We stayed in unit A1 for 4 beautiful days in Poipu. The unit was close to everything, though not walking distance., but that’s ok since we had a rental car—a must on Kauai. The unit was pretty with lots of character and a well-loved feel. It was quite dated though and will need an upgrade soon, along with minor repairs to window screens, shower plumbing, flooring, etc. The upper kitchen cupboards were so high, I could not reach anything in them. A foot stool in the kitchen would be useful for this purpose. We appreciated all the beach accessories. However, the snorkel gear needs replacing and some boogie boards would be a fun addition. A couple extra pillows for each bedroom would be a nice extra to have as well. Lastly, we never did find the pool that is supposed to be onsite, but we are more beach people so it didn’t matter to us like it would to others. All in all, a good choice for accommodation in Poipu!
Mahalo Michelle for your 5-star review and comments. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Poipu Makai #A1. We will be sure to look at the items that you mentioned and make the necessary repairs. We can also add a step stool. Mahalo for the suggestion. We look forward to hosting you again. A hui hou!
Walter C. says
Great location, great views, but condo needs updating
The waterfront location of this condo was remarkable with great views of the shore. Perfect location to watch the sun set and even see turtles in the morning. The location was also centralized in terms of access to golf, multiple beaches (even within walking distance – 10 min), and a short drive to restaurants and shopping in Poipu and Koala. The location and views were great. The condo itself however was a bit disappointing, especially in comparison to where we stayed on the north side in Princeville just days before. The unit was clean enough and stocked with everything needed, which was great. But, the owners need to really consider updating the unit – the pictures in the listing look a lot better than the actual condition of things inside. The floors were warped, door handles stick really bad almost to the point of not being able to open the second bedroom, the cupboards won’t stay closed, and the screens and sliding glass and windows are in rough shape. All of the portable fans are old and noisy. There is a binder in the unit with recommendations which is a nice attempt, but it is just a generic publication put out by the property management company with suggestions on the whole island. Nothing personal or location specific to this area or Poipu, so it didn’t provide much use. Overall, it is just showing it’s age and the pictures aren’t completely representative of what the unit actually looks like. During our stay the toilet broke and one of the fans never worked. We opened a maintenance ticket and both were fixed the next day, but just wish we didn’t have to deal with that on vacation. We really liked the location and views, but would have preferred something a bit more up to date and newer and cleaner than this turned out being. Would definitely stay in this area, just not this condo.
Aloha Walter. We appreciate your comments and feedback about the property. Our apologies for any inconvenience regarding the fan and toilet. Sometimes things fail despite all preparation, but we try to fix them as quickly as possible. We will be sure to have a look at the other items that you’ve mentioned and look to make any necessary refreshes/repairs where we can. We take a lot of care to be sure the properties are photographed and represented online as accurately as possible. We understand that everyone has different preferences when selecting units, which is why we are quite diligent about inspecting, rating and listing units by their interior rating. This unit is listed as a “deluxe”, which by definition, “has been updated within the last ten years”. For your next stay, we have several “premier” units (which are more recently updated or brand new) at Poipu Makai and elsewhere on the south shore. Next time we would be happy to help you find the perfect one to meet your needs. Lastly, on the guest directory, we went through great lengths to recommend areas of interest across the island (beaches, hiking trails, sites if interest) as we find most want to explore and people were requesting more. We are sorry you did not find it useful. Aloha.
Spring Break 2019
Our family of 4 stayed at this property for a week. The unit was comfortable and clean. The ocean view is awesome. Our first morning we watched sea turtles swimming along the coastline. During the week we also saw whales swimming by. There are several great beaches very close to the unit, as well as many great restaurants and shopping.
Michele R. says
Great view for whale watching and sunset!
The property had everything we needed along with a great view!
Aspen B. says
Hear the Ocean waves crashing on the volcanic rock....
Was a beautiful place! The size of it was quite large and we slept so soundly every night hearing the ocean waves crashing on the volanic rock outside every night. Absolutely amazing! Sat out on the lanai during breakfast and for sunset, so magical! The beds were incredibly comfortable. Would stay here again for sure! Location was prime as well! Best beach on the island is right down the street, Poipu Beach, super sunny and calm waters!
kylie c. says
Has a great view of the ocean, beautiful sunsets and close to shopping and restaurants
Elliot J. says
Just got home from Hawaii. Wish we were still there. We visited Maui and Kauai and rented on VRBO for both. While we enjoyed this property in Poipu, it was hard not to compare the two stays and this property did not live up to the standards of the Maui property. Plus, this property was more expensive. It was nice enough and overall it was a comfortable stay, but we did have issues with a few things. We thought not having A/C wouldn’t be much of an issue, but the main problem with that is things just don’t dry and you have to have all the windows open at all times or it just doesn’t cool. We rented a big SUV and parking was a problem. There was absolutely no spices to cook with. Salt and pepper only. Basic things would be nice. Hard to believe no one had left anything at all. The place could use some updatting, but it is still acceptable. The floor is probably the main issue. It’s so humid, it just isn’t staying down any longer. Just pointing out some flaws. The property is still nice and the view is great. I would still recommend this property. Probably my biggest complaint, however is their deposit policy. They required a $1,500 refundable deposit or a one time $69 non refundable insurance policy. I found the $1,500 deposit a little ridiculous, so I paid the $69. I don’t know how common this is, but I didn’t like it. Of course we didn’t break anything.
Mahalo Elliot for your review. Being directly on the ocean during a rainy spell can lead to high humidity. Because of that, we do not leave opened food items as they do not store well and we found people do not like using other people’s leftovers. We apologize for any confusion on the deposit, it is pretty much an industry standard. Mahalo for your stay and we hope to host you again soon on Kauai. A hui hou.
Robb O. says
Beautiful view, comfy beds and living room
The view is incredible. Step off the lanai, across the grass and you can see Hawaiin green turtles in the rocky shore below. The nighttime stars were mesmerizing. Unfortunately, the condo needs some updating – older appliances, the floorboards are popping loose, and the curtains are hard to open/close.
Phaedra G. says
Great for the price in the Poipu area
The view was beautiful, garaunteed sunsets daily and falling asleep to the waves crashing was perfection. Interior is a bit dated but the available beach chairs, umbrellas etc make up for it. Poipu weather was sunny everyday whereas the north end of the island was quite rainy and cloudy. Must eat at the Beach House! Would probably stay here again and going to miss the view! Mahalo
Great Views and Location
The best thing about this unit is the ground level ocean view lanai where you can sit out in a mostly shaded area and enjoy the ocean and scenery. Most of the time it was very private and quiet because it is an end unit, but for a few days some really rowdy people were around. That’s just the luck of the draw. A heritage trail goes east and you can walk for miles on a sea cliff trail right from the unit. The ocean was a bit too rough to snorkel right out in front while we were there. DO NOT depend on the stuff in the closet for your adventures. Maybe someone will leave something and you’ll get lucky but the boogie board, snorkel stuff and cooler were all malfunctioning. We didn’t try the chairs.We often walked to the beaches nearby. But there is plenty of parking at the beaches if you want to drive. This is a great unit, but there are several little things that need to be fixed so if you are OCD stay somewhere else. I was looking forward to an espresso machine and after a thorough search never found one. I think the unit itself could use less clunky furniture or could be re-arranged with a bit more flow. But the ocean views make up for most everything. The pool is super tiny but the water in it was nice. We came for the ocean not the pool! There is no air-conditioning, so if you are one of those people who need total luxury you might want to stay in a hotel instead of a condo. I have a king bed at home and this one was really a lot smaller, so maybe a pygmy king? I’m not going to mention bugs because it is a tropical place and if you want a bug free environment you’ll have to go somewhere hermetically sealed. We absolutely loved the geckos and lizards. There were none inside the unit, but they are around the condo and my son was crazy for them. Right down at Brenneckes beach we snorkeled with about 15 sea turtles. Federal law says no touching or getting too close, but there are so many and they are friendly you feel as if you are one. We saw dolphins one morning and also a monk seal on Poipu beach. I looked at some of the other condos around and in comparison was happy I chose this one.
Wonderful stay in Poipu!!
We spent five nights in A1 and they were all wonderful nights! Being on the bottom floor, we had a very large patio and grass area right in front. Our two children, ages 5 and 7 loved the freedom of being able to roam around the condo and we loved being near by to keep watch. From the grassy area, we could see turtles in the water below, waves splashing up over the lava rocks and beautiful rainbows in the sea spray. Though we could have walked to Poipu/Brennecke’s beach, we chose to drive so we didn’t have to schlep our stuff each way. Both beaches were great and each for a different purpose – boogie boarding at one, snorkeling at the other. Best of both worlds. The house was very well equipped and comfortable. We loved having the washer and dryer and dishwasher. If we visit Poipu again, we would love the opportunity to stay at Makai A1 again!
Can we come back today, please!!
We had a delightful stay at Poipu Makai a1. Everything in the condo was as beautiful and clean as shown in your advertisement. The owners have done a great job with decor and finding special little items all over the place was kind of like a treasure hunt, something new each day. Having all of the beach equipment we found was a definite plus. The fish we saw right off shore when we snorkled were so beautiful and friendly. We spent many amazing hours watching the turtles feed right in front of the condo. One day we saw spinner dolphins playing with several people on paddle boards, I now know why they are called “spinner” dolphins. All of the birds that come as soon as we opened the door in the morning were a deight, especially the little shorebird. Going to sleep with the sound of the waves and waking up to the doves is an experience I will never forget. The condo was furnished with everything we could possibly need. We went to the markets so we did most of our cooking right there. Sunshine Farmers Market was fantastic, I was like a kid in a candy store trying all of the different fruits. Fresh pineapple and apple bananas every day several times a day, my mouth waters even now. We took many walks and pictures and are now enjoying them at our snowy home in Montana. If anything was a challenge it would be the parking lot and getting out of the main entrance without hitting the underside of our car, but that was defintely outweighed by everything else. Our stay far exceeded our expecations and we will definitely be back. Julie Paul
A view worth every dollar.
This was a very comfortable condo with a spectacular view from the lanai. We could watch turtles from the edge of the grass at any time of the day, sometimes up to 10 at a time. The unit came with extras like a beach cooler, chairs and fins. The only drawbacks were that the bathrooms were not recently updated and there is carpet throughout instead of solid floors, which would be better for the climate. Overall a great condo that we’d stay at again and have recommended to friends.
Salt Lake City says
We were extremely pleased with all aspects of our stay from the amazing staff and beautiful view to the privacy and joy we experienced together.
Amazing Oceanfront Lanai
This was a great room right on the ocean. We could here the waves crashing every night when we went to sleep. We’re ready to get rid of everything on the mainland and move to Kauai.
Best Winter Spot on Kauai
Wonderful location right on water with sounds and sunsets. Walk to best boogie-boarding beach on South Shore. Great coastline walks. Small, quite location.